If you wish to limit how much time your recipients have to access your file, you can choose to set your file to expire on a certain date and time or self-destruct minutes after it was first viewed. You can set an expiry or a self-destruct timer to the following file formats: 

  • PDF
  • MS Office documents
  • Images
  • Videos
  • Non-viewable file formats (Only for Expire file on a fixed date and time option)

The expiry and self-destruct options are available for Pro, Team and Enterprise.


How to Set Expiry Date and Time

Go to the Send Files section

  1. Select a file to share.
  2. Set Access, Permissions, and Watermark settings. 
  3. In Expiry, select Expire file on a fixed date & time.
  4. Set date and time when you want your file to expire. Date and time are based on your browser's time zone.

   5. Continue selecting your other preferred security settings and click Send when ready. 


How to Set Self-Destruct
Go to the Send Files section

  1. Select a file to share
  2. Set Access, Permissions, and Watermark settings. 
  3. In Expiry, select Self-destruct file after it is opened.
  4. Set timer between 1 minute and 60 hours. 

   5. Continue selecting your other preferred security settings and click Send when ready. 

Note that when you allow download to your recipients, they can only do so until self-destruct timer elapsed. When timer has elapsed, file can no longer be accessible and a screen like this will show. 


How to Use Expiry and Self-Destruct with Different Access Settings

Depending on your goal, you can use the following combinations when sending self-destructing files:

  • Anyone with link + Self-destruct file. Anyone who has the link will be able to access your file. The self-destruct timer will start the moment the first recipient views your file. When the file self-destructs, it will no longer be accessible to anyone.
  • Anyone with passkey + Self-destruct file. Anyone who has the passkey will be able to access the file. The self-destruct timer will start the moment the first recipient views the file using the passkey that you’ve set. When the file self-destructs, it will no longer be accessible to anyone. (Related: How to use Anyone with the passkey)
  • Only people I specify + Self-destruct file. Only an invited recipient can access your file using the email address you’ve specified. If you’re sending the file to multiple recipients, each recipient will have its own self-destruct timer that will trigger upon viewing the file.

Access settings will not affect sending files with expiry date and time.

Did this answer your question?