When you share files on Digify, you can decide who gets to access it and how. There are three main levels of access.

1. Only people I specify (Most secure. Recommended.)

If you are sharing your file with a specific person or group, choose Only people I specify and you can invite recipients through their email address.

Use this access level when you want to limit file access to only those people you specify. You can track when and for how long they viewed the document and if they downloaded or printed it. You will also get an email notification once the recipient opens the file.

This is ideal for confidential documents like financial statements, patents and intellectual property files that have major consequences if they get leaked. For startups going through a fundraising process, knowing who has viewed your documents the most can also help you prioritize your follow-up and outreach efforts.

The recipients will see the file when they verify their identity through a code sent to their email. Note that they can still forward your file to others who will be able to access the document once they verify using their email code. If you would like to prevent any email outside of your intended recipients from accessing the file, select Restrict Forwarding.

The "Additional email verification" feature adds another layer of verification to prevent multiple users attempting to share the same Digify account. A verification code will be sent to the account holder's email in addition to their Digify account password before the document can be accessed.

2. Anyone with the link (Most convenient for less confidential documents)

If you want to share your file publicly, choose Anyone with the link. This allows anyone with the link to access the file.

This access level is ideal for scenarios where you share a document publicly, but you still want to restrict print and download. This option also helps if you don’t have the email contacts of all your recipients as you can simply post the link on your website, messaging app or other channels.

For example, you could share your standard pitch deck with prospective investors or post a sample ebook, brochure or video on your website using this option.

You may also use the “Request Email” option to ask the recipient for their email addresses so that you can see who accesses your file.

However, unlike the "only people I specify option", the email address is unverified. Leaving this unchecked will still allow you to see how many times the file was viewed, downloaded or printed and when, but you won't be able to identify who did it.

Once your recipient views the file, you will get an email notification.

3. Anyone with the passkey (Traditional method)

If you are sending an image or a PDF file (up to 25 MB), you can choose to encrypt it with your own passkey using "Anyone with the passkey" option.

Digify does not keep a copy of the passkey. The recipients can open the file if they enter the passkey you have set. The document will be decrypted in the browser with the passkey.

You should send the recipients the passkey outside of Digify.

This option should only be used if you want to keep the document encrypted with your own key not handled by Digify, and your recipients are used to a more traditional way of viewing the files by entering a passkey sent via a second method, such as SMS or Whatsapp.

This option requires a high level of trust of the recipient. It is meant for users who prefer a more traditional method of encrypting documents with a password not known to Digify. It is not recommended when a high level of security is required, as the passkey can be sent to others without your knowledge or consent. There is no identity verification or advanced document tracking to track who they were either.

For more information, please contact us at support@digify.com. We're here to help!

Did this answer your question?