If you wish to limit how much time your recipients have to access your file, you can choose to set your file to expire on a certain date and time or self-destruct minutes after it was first viewed. You can set an expiry or a self-destruct timer to the following file formats:

  • PDF

  • MS Office documents

  • Images

  • Videos

  • Non-viewable file formats (Only for Expire file on a fixed date and time option)

  1. Select a file to share.

  2. Set the download and print permissions.

  3. In Expiry, select Expire file on a fixed date & time.

  4. Set date and time when you want your file to expire. Date and time are based on your browser's time zone.

 5. Continue selecting your other preferred security settings and click Send when ready. 


How to Set Self-Destruct

  1. Select a file to share

  2. Set the download and print permissions.

  3. In Expiry, select Self-destruct after opening.

  4. Set your self-destruct timer.

   5. Continue selecting your other preferred security settings and click Send when ready. 

Note that when you allow download to your recipients, they can only do so until self-destruct timer elapsed. When timer has elapsed, file can no longer be accessible.


How to Use Expiry and Self-Destruct with Different Access Settings

Depending on your goal, you can use the following combinations when sending self-destructing files:

  • Anyone with link + Self-destruct file. Anyone who has the link will be able to access your file. The self-destruct timer will start the moment the first recipient views your file. When the file self-destructs, it will no longer be accessible to anyone.

  • Only whitelisted domains + Self-destruct file. Anyone within the domain will be able to access the file. If there are multiple recipients, each recipient will have its own self-destruct timer that will trigger upon viewing the file.

  • Only people I specify + Self-destruct file. Only an invited recipient can access your file using the email address you’ve specified. If you’re sending the file to multiple recipients, each recipient will have its own self-destruct timer that will trigger upon viewing the file.

Access settings will not affect files sent using the Expire file on a fixed date & time option.

Did this answer your question?