If you wish to limit how much time your recipients have to access your file on Digify, you can either:

  • Set your file's online access to expire on a certain date and time, or

  • Set your file to self-destruct minutes or hours after it was first viewed online

After the file expires or self-destructs, your recipient will no longer be able to view your file on the Digify platform.

Note: File expiry and self-destruct are features that restrict online access to files on Digify after a specified amount of time. Once a file is downloaded, these features will not apply.

List of contents


What file formats can I use expiry or self-destruct on?

You can set an expiry or a self-destruct timer to the following file formats:

  • PDF

  • MS Office documents

  • Images

  • Videos

  • Non-viewable file formats (Only for Expire on a fixed date & time)


How to set an expiry for a file

Step 1: From your dashboard, go to Send Files. Upload the desired file.

If your file has already been uploaded to your account, ignore the above and go to Manage Sent Files from your dashboard instead. Then, right-click on the desired file and click on Settings in the dropdown menu.

Step 2: Under Expiry, select "Expire on a fixed date & time".

Then, set the date and time for when you want access to your file to expire. The date and time are based on your browser's time zone.

Step 3: Continue selecting your other preferred security settings.

Note: If you allow your recipient(s) to download or print the file, they can only do so before access to the file expires. After the expiry date and time, the file will no longer be accessible.

Step 4: If you wish to notify your recipients via email, click on the Send & notify recipients button. Otherwise, click on Get link & skip notification.



How to set self-destruct for a file

Step 1: From your dashboard, go to Send Files. Upload the desired file.

If your file has already been uploaded to your account, ignore the above and go to Manage Sent Files from your dashboard instead. Then, right-click on the desired file and click on Settings in the dropdown menu.

Step 2: Under Expiry, select "Self-destruct after opening".

Then, set how long your recipient(s) will have (in minutes and/or hours) to view the file before it self-destructs.

Step 3: Continue selecting your other preferred security settings.

Note: If you allow your recipient(s) to download or print the file, they can only do so before the file self-destructs. When the self-destruct timer lapses, the file will no longer be accessible.

Step 4: If you wish to notify your recipients via email, click on the Send & notify recipients button. Otherwise, click on Get link & skip notification.



How to use expiry and self-destruct with different access settings

Depending on your goal, you can use the following combinations when sending self-destructing files:

  • Anyone with link + Self-destruct file. Anyone who has the link will be able to access your file. The self-destruct timer will start the moment the first recipient views your file. When the file self-destructs, it will no longer be accessible to anyone.

  • Only whitelisted domains + Self-destruct file. Anyone within the domain will be able to access the file. If there are multiple recipients, each recipient will have their own self-destruct timer that will trigger upon viewing the file.

  • Only people I specify + Self-destruct file. Only an invited recipient can access your file using the email address you’ve specified. If you’re sending the file to multiple recipients, each recipient will have their own self-destruct timer that will trigger upon viewing the file.

Access settings will not affect files sent using the Expire file on a fixed date & time option.

Did this answer your question?