The Access setting allows data room owners and co-owners an easier way to define the 1) Access; and 2) Default Permission for each data room. 

Under the Access setting, you have 3 options to choose from and are able to give data room access to:

  1. Only the people you’d invite by specifying individual email addresses.
  2. Only people from domains you'd specify, which makes it easier for you to give access to an entire organization by simply indicating their domain.
  3. Simply let Anyone who has the link gain access to your data room (with email verification).

Next, you could set a default permission to define what these recipients could do in the data room — whether they can View only, View + Print, Download or join as a Contributor.

We’ll walk you through the options below.


Access Options 

There are 3 options to choose from when managing access on the data room level:


Option 1: Only people I invite

This is the default option which you can use if you only want to allow access to a specific group of people and you know their email addresses. You can then input or copy-and-paste the email addresses as you invite people to your data room.


Option 2: Only people from domains I specify

This option allows you to give access to everyone who has an email address with the specified domain, without the need to input individual email addresses. 

For example, if you specify “business.com”, then everyone with a “business.com” email address will automatically gain access to your entire data room. As people from “business.com” domain view your data room, their names will automatically be reflected under Who Has Access in the Invite People to Data Room section.

This option can be used in conjunction with option 1 so you can always invite people by adding their email addresses to the Invite People to Data Room section.



Option 3: Anyone with the link (+email verification)

This option lets you open up access to anyone and everyone who gets hold of the link to your data room, as long as they are able to verify their email address. As people view your data room, their names will automatically be reflected under Who Has Access in the Invite People to Data Room section.

We recommend using this setting for data rooms that don’t contain sensitive information since anyone who has the link automatically gets access to your entire data room. 

This option can also be used in conjunction with option 1 so you can always invite people by adding their email addresses to the Invite People to Data Room section.



Note: All 3 options will require recipients to go through email verification before they can successfully view the data room.


Default Permission

Upon defining the access, you will be able to set the default permission that will apply as you invite recipients through Option 1 and for the ones that will come in through options 2 & 3.

In the following example, let’s say you chose "Only people from domains I specify" and specified “business.com”. This means that everyone with an @business.com email address will be able to access your data room as a Contributor.


Print and Download Permissions, Granular Permissions Can Also Be Managed Individually

Regardless of the option you choose, you will be able to manage print or download permissions on the recipient level by editing their individual role permissions

If you want to restrict access to certain folders, you can manage the granular permissions on a per folder basis.


How to Manage Access and Default Permission in Data Room Settings

You can set the Access and Default Permission upon creating a data room or by going to your existing data room’s settings through the following steps:

  1. Go to the specific data room. 
  2. Click on More icon dropdown.
  3. Select Change Data Room Settings


Changes to the Data Room Access settings will take effect in real-time. Recipients who have previously gained access through options 2 & 3 will continue to be able to view the data room following the previously set default permission. 



Note: New Access and Default Permission are available to data rooms created starting August 20, 2018. Data rooms created before that are by default set to “Only people I invite” and this setting cannot be changed. 

If you’d like to use the new Access options, you can follow these steps on how to transfer your existing files to a new data room

Did this answer your question?