If you're the data room owner or co-owner, you can define the Access setting for your data room as one of the following:

Read on to learn more about each of the three Access settings.



Only people I specify

This option allows you to invite specific guests to the data room.

If you select this option, you must invite guests to the data room using the individual email addresses for each guest.

Before the specific guests can access your data room, they will have to verify their email address first.


Only people from domains I specify

This option allows you to invite guests from a specific email domain.

If you select this option, you will be inviting an entire organization as guests to your data room, as long as they access the data room using the specific email domain. You will not need to invite individual guests from the organization to the data room.

For example, if you specify the domain "business.com", then everyone with an email ending with "business.com" will automatically gain access to your entire data room. Before they can access your data room, they will have to verify their email address first.

After they access your data room, their names and email addresses will automatically be reflected in the data room guest list (click on Guests in the top-right corner of your data room).

This option also allows you to invite guests to your data room by specifying their individual email addresses.

Anyone with the link (with email verification)

This option allows you to open up access of the data room to anyone and everyone who has the link to your data room, as long as they verify their email address.

As people view your data room, their names and email addresses will automatically be reflected in the data room guest list (click on Guests in the top-right corner of your data room).

We recommend using this setting only for data rooms that do not contain any sensitive information, since anyone who has the link will automatically get access to your entire data room.

This option also allows you to invite guests to your data room by specifying their individual email addresses.


Default Guest Permission

After defining your data room's Access setting, you will be able to set the Default Guest Permission, which is the default permission for all guests when they first access your data room.

Learn more about Default Guest Permission


How to change your data room's Access settings

You can define your data room's Access settings when creating a data room or after your data room has been created.

For steps on how to define your data room's Access settings when creating a data room, please see this article.

If you want to change your data room's Access settings, follow these steps:

Step 1: Enter the specific data room. Click on Settings in the top-right corner.

Step 2: Under Data Room Settings, look for Access and make your changes as desired.

Step 3: Once done, click on the Save button to confirm the changes.


Any changes to the Access setting will take effect in real-time. Recipients who previously gained access to the data room from a different Access setting will still be able to access the data room.

Note: The Access setting is only available to data rooms that were created from August 20, 2018. Data rooms created before that are by default set to “Only people I invite” and this setting cannot be changed.

If you have an older data room created before August 20, 2018, we recommend cloning the data room so it is updated to the latest version that includes the Access setting feature. How to clone a data room


Related links

Did this answer your question?