What Are Terms Of Access

Similar to a non-disclosure agreement (NDA), the Terms of Access allow data room owners to protect intellectual property information and trade secrets. The Terms of Access can outline the confidentiality of the information being shared in a data room and that receiving parties agree not to disclose information covered by the Terms of Access. 

The Terms of Access feature is available to Pro, Team, Business, and Enterprise plans.

Enabling Terms Of Access

You can enable the Terms of Access feature upon sharing a file or creating a data room.

Once the Terms of Access feature have been enabled for a particular file or data room, invited users will be required to agree to the Terms of Access upon login before they can access the file or data room.

Updating The Terms Of Access Template

A team can use one "Terms of Access" template for all files and data rooms owned by its team members.

Editing or changing the Terms of Access template will mean updating all Terms of Access in existing files or data rooms. Invited recipients or guests will be prompted to agree to the Terms of Access upon every login before they can access the specific file or data room.

To edit or change the Terms of Access template, the team admins can

  1. Click on your name on the top-right hand corner.

  2. Select Admin Settings.

  3. Under the Admin tab, navigate to the Change Terms of Access section and click Expand.

  4. Edit or change the template then click save to confirm the changes.

Related: Sample Terms Of Access Template

Did this answer your question?