When enabled in a data room, Terms of Access is a set of terms that guests must agree to before they are allowed to enter the data room.

Similar to a non-disclosure agreement, Terms of Access allows data room owners to protect intellectual property information and trade secrets.

Terms of Access can be used to outline the confidentiality of the files in a data room, and require data room guests to agree to not disclose information covered under the terms.

If you need a template for Terms of Access, please see this article.

❗ Note: Terms of Access is available on all paid plans.

List of contents


How to enable/disable Terms of Access for a data room

To enable Terms of Access when creating a data room, you will have two options:

  • Use organization terms. The data room will enable Terms of Access and use the terms that are set and managed by your team admin.

  • Use custom terms. The data room will enable Terms of Access and use your custom terms that will only apply to this data room.

You will also have the option to select a checkbox to Notify owner & co-owners after each guest agrees to the terms. Check this box if you want an email notification to be sent to the data room owner and co-owners when a guest agrees to the Terms of Access.

Once Terms of Access is enabled, data room guests must agree to the terms before they can enter the data room.

To enable or disable Terms of Access for a data room that has already been created, follow these steps.

Step 1: Enter the data room. Click on Settings in the top-right corner.

Step 2: You'll be directed to the Data Room Settings page. Under Terms of Access, select either "Use organization terms", "Use custom terms" or "Off".

Step 3: Once done, scroll down and click on the Save button.


How to edit organization terms for Terms of Access

When creating a data room, members of a team can use their organization terms for the data room's Terms of Access. Only admins in the team can edit the organization terms.

When an admin edits the organization terms, this will apply to all sent files and data rooms where Terms of Access is enabled with "Use organization terms". Recipients and guests for these affected sent files and data rooms will then be required again to agree to the latest organization terms, even if they had previously agreed to earlier organization terms.

If you're an admin and you wish to edit your organization terms, follow these steps.

Step 1: From your dashboard, click on your name or avatar in the top-right corner. In the dropdown menu, select Admin Settings.

Step 2: You'll be directed to the Admin Settings page. Under Admin, look for TERMS OF ACCESS - Organization terms.

Step 3: Under the Admin tab, navigate to the Terms of Access. Under Organization terms, you may edit the field as desired.

Step 4: Once done, click on the Save button.


How to edit the custom terms for a data room's Terms of Access

Data room owners can change the custom terms for their data room's Terms of Access at any time. Changes made will be applied immediately.

When the custom terms are edited, guests will be required again to agree to the latest organization terms, even if they had previously agreed to earlier custom terms.

If you're the data room owner or co-owner, follow these steps to edit your data room's custom terms.

Step 1: Enter the data room. Click on Settings in the top-right corner.

Step 2: You'll be directed to the Data Room Settings page. Under Terms of Access, you can edit the custom terms.

Step 3: Once done, scroll to the bottom and click on the Save button.


I'm an admin. How do I disable custom terms so that any data rooms created by my team can only use our organization terms for Terms of Access?

When a member of a Digify team creates a data room, they can enable Terms of Access for the data room by either using their organization terms or custom terms set by themselves.

If you're an admin and you want your members to only be able to use your organization terms when Terms of Access is enabled, you can disable custom terms for your team.

Step 1: From your dashboard, click on your name or avatar. From the dropdown menu, select Admin Settings.

Step 2: You'll be directed to the Admin Settings page. Under Admin, look for the TERMS OF ACCESS section.

Step 3: Under Custom terms (Data rooms only), click on the Disable custom terms button.

Step 4: A pop-up will appear. Click on the Confirm button.



Related links

Did this answer your question?