When you are setting up a data room, you will see an option for the data room default group permission.

In some cases your guests will not have a permission assigned to them when they join the data room. This could happen if your data room access setting is set to:

  • Only people from email domains I specify

  • Anyone with the link (with email verification)

In these cases, they will be assigned to this default group, and adopt the permissions you've defined for the group. This is especially useful if you want to assign these guests to a group with granular permissions (i.e. predefined permissions for folders and files).

How to Set Up a Default Group Permission for Your Data Room

You can only setup a default group permission, if you have set up a group. If you haven't already, you can create a new group with the following steps:

  1. Under the Guests tab, select Groups on the left sidebar.

  2. Click on Create group button.

As you set up the group settings, you can select any of the available permissions.

If you wish to set up granular permission for your group:

  1. Under the Permission dropdown, select Granular Permission.

  2. Click Edit granular permissions and modify access accordingly.

Once you have created the new group, you can change the default permission for your data room:

  1. Under the Settings tab, change the Default Permission to the "Add to Group" option.

  2. Select the newly created group.

If you need further assistance, contact us at support@digify.com.

Did this answer your question?