If you have a group of guests for whom you want to assign the same permissions, you can do this with the Groups feature.

With this feature, instead of modifying permissions one guest at a time, you can assign the same permissions to all members of a group in just a few clicks.

Note: Only the data room owner and co-owners can create groups, assign data room guests to groups and make changes related to groups.

List of contents


How to create a new group

Step 1: Enter the data room. Click on Guests in the top-right corner.

Step 2: You'll be directed to the Guests page. In the left sidebar, click on Groups.

Step 3: Click on the Create group button.

Step 4: Name your group and add the data room guests whom you want to be in this group.

Note: You can only add existing data room guests to a group. Please ensure that you've invited guests to your data room before adding them to a group. Learn how to invite guests to a data room

Under Permission, choose a permission that will apply to all the guests in this group.

  • View: This allows guests to view, but not to print or download the files within the accessible folders.

  • Print: This allows guests to view and print, but not to download the files within the accessible folders.

  • Download (PDF): This allows guests to view, print and download files within the accessible folders in PDF formats. If you've turned on Dynamic Watermarks, you must select this permission if you want the watermarks to appear on downloaded files.

  • Download (Original): This allows guests to view, print and download files within the accessible folders in the files' original format.

  • Contributors: This allows guests to add, view, print and download files or sub-folders within accessible folders. They will also be able to rename, replace, delete, reorder, move and copy files or sub-folders, as well as restore file versions.

  • Granular Permissions: Choose this if you want to define the permissions for this group at a folder- or file-level. Once selected, you'll need to click on Edit Granular Permissions after to define the permissions for specific folders and/or files. (Note: File-Level Granular Permissions is only available for Team plans and above.)

Under Access Expiry, you can choose to define a date and time when the data room access for this group will expire. If you don't want to set this group's access to expire, leave the setting for this feature to Off.

Step 5: Once done, click on the Create button to create your group.


How to add data room guests to an existing group

If you already have an existing group, you can add new data room guests to it.

Step 1: Enter the data room. Click on Guests in the top-right corner.

Step 2: You'll be directed to the Guests page. In the left sidebar, click on Groups.

Step 3: Click on the three dots (...) for the group you want to add data room guests to. Alternatively, you can click on the name of the group, or right-click on the group.

Step 4: Under Group Members, add the data room guests to the group.

Step 5: Once done, click on the Save button.


Related links

Did this answer your question?