You can move and/or copy files and folders within your data room, as well as across data rooms you own.

Note: Only data room owners and co-owners can do this. If you're moving or copying files across two data rooms, you must be the owner or co-owner of both data rooms. Data room guests can only do this for the folders where they have contributor permissions.

List of contents


How to move/copy files & folders

Step 1: Enter the data room. Ensure that you are in the Files section.

Step 2: Select the file(s)/folders you wish to move/copy. In the floating menu that appears, click on Move/Copy.

Step 3: A pop-up will appear. Select where you want to move/copy the selected files and folders to.

If you want to move/copy your files to another data room you own, click on DATA ROOMS YOU OWN to view all your data rooms.


Step 4: Click on either the Move or Copy button to confirm.


How permissions will change after moving/copying

If the files and folders that are being moved/copied don't have granular permissions, then the moved/copied files and folders will inherit the permissions of their target folder (i.e. the new folder where they will be moved/copied into).

If the files and folders that are being moved/copied have granular permissions, then the moved/copied files will keep their original granular permissions.


Related links

Did this answer your question?