If you're a data room owner, you can transfer the ownership of your data room to a member on your team that has access to the same data room.

Before continuing, please ensure the following:

Note: There can only be one owner of a data room. If you transfer your ownership of a data room, you will no longer be the owner but will be the co-owner. Once you've transferred ownership, you cannot take back ownership from them. The new owner will be able to remove you from the data room, delete the data room, or transfer the ownership of the data room to another member on your team.

How to transfer ownership of a data room

Step 1: Enter the data room.

Step 2: Ensure that the member of your team to whom you're transferring ownership of your data room is already a guest in the data room.

To check if they are a guest, you can click on Guests in the top-right and look for their email address.

Step 3: To start transferring ownership of the data room, click on Settings in the top-right corner. In the left side bar, click on Advanced.

Step 4: You'll be directed to the Advanced Settings page. Under Transfer Ownership, click on the Transfer button.


Step 5: In the pop-up that appears, select who you want as the new owner of the data room. Click on the checkbox and then the Transfer button to confirm.


Step 6: Once done, you will become a co-owner of the data room.

Did this answer your question?