If you want to retain control over your files after sending them via Digify, we strongly recommend disabling printing or downloading. Once a file is printed or downloaded, Digify can no longer protect the file.
If you must enable printing or downloading, please be aware of the following.
Printed and downloaded copies of your file cannot be protected or tracked by Digify.
The self-destruct timer and expiry date will no longer apply to printed and downloaded copies of your file.
Printed copies of your file can be rescanned into a PDF or photocopied. Even if just one copy is printed or downloaded, recipients can scan the physical copy of your file into their computer as a PDF file for unlimited distribution, or make photocopies of the printed copy of your file.
After downloading a copy of your file, recipients can print it via a PDF printer (e.g. "Save as PDF" in some browsers' print dialog). A PDF printer driver emulates a normal printer fully, making it impossible to distinguish from an actual printer.
Recipients can choose to increase the number of copies in the print dialog box in the browser. It is not possible for any web application or platform to restrict or disable any of the options in the print dialog box of the browser. With Digify, you can restrict only the number of times a document is sent to the printer.
If print or download if enabled, we recommend enabling Dynamic Watermark too
If you must enable printing or download for your recipients, we recommend enabling Dynamic Watermark as a deterrent to limit the spread of the printed/downloaded document.
With this feature, you can automatically watermark files with your recipients' or guests' email addresses, IP addresses, and date and time that they viewed the file. This will discourage your recipients or guests from distributing the physical copy of your file, or from scanning the printed copy into their computers and redistributing your file.