With File Versioning, you can replace individual or multiple existing files in a data room with a new version of those files.

There are two ways to replace files in a data room: the classic method, or using a drag-and-drop action.

💡 Pro Tip: Replacing files using the drag-and-drop action is useful when you want to replace multiple files at a time.

List of contents


How to replace files in a data room (Classic method)

Step 1: Enter your data room. Ensure that you're in the Files section (check the top-right corner).

Step 2: Click on the three dots (...) for the file that you want replaced with a new version. In the dropdown menu, select Replace.

Alternatively, right-click on the file and click on Replace.

Step 3: Click on the Upload button to select a file from your computer. This file will replace the existing file as a new version.

Note: To replace the existing file, the new file version must be in the same file format. For example, if you're replacing a .doc file, the new file version must also be a .doc file.

Under File Version Comment, you may include some notes about the new file version. This is optional.

Step 4: Once done, you can click on the Replace & notify guests button. This will replace the existing file with the uploaded file and an email notification will be sent to your data room guests.

Otherwise, you can click on the Replace & skip notifications button. This will replace the existing file without notifying your guests via email.


How to replace files in a data room (Using drag-and-drop)

You can replace a single file or multiple files in your data room using a drag-and-drop action, if the new file has the same name as the existing file.

The new file will then be uploaded as a new version of the existing file. This means statistics for the existing file will not be lost.

This works for all supported file formats, except video files.

Note: If you upload a video file with the same name as an existing video file, your new video file will be uploaded as a separate file with a number as a suffix to its file name. For example, Video.mp4 will be uploaded as Video (1).mp4.

Step 1: Enter your data room. Drag the files from your computer into your data room. Ensure that the files have the same name as the existing files that you wish to replace it with. The files must also be in the same file format as the existing files.

Step 2: A pop-up should appear, giving you three options:

  • Skip files: New files that have the same name as existing files will not be uploaded. All other files will be uploaded as normal.

  • Replace as new version: New files with the same name as existing files will replace the existing files as a new version respectively. All other files will be uploaded as normal.

  • Cancel upload: This will cancel the entire upload. No files will be uploaded.

Click on the Replace as new version button.


How to check if existing files were replaced with the new files as a new version

Step 1: Enter the data room. From your file directory, right-click on the file and select Version History.

Alternatively, you may click on the three dots (...) beside the date of upload for the file, then select Version History.

Step 2: You should see a list of file versions, including the date and time that each version was uploaded.


Can data room guests see the older versions of a file?

If the data room owner, co-owner or contributor has replaced a file with a new version, then yes, guests will be able to see the older versions of your sent file.

To do this, they will have to click on the ⓘ beside the file name while in the file viewer.

This is what your guests will need to do to see the older versions of a file:

If you don't want your guests to be able to view the older versions of your sent file, we recommend one of the following:

  • Set outdated file to "No Access" for your guests and upload the new file version separately. Your guests won't be able to view or access the file. Statistics for the file will be retained.

  • Delete the outdated file and upload the new file version separately. The outdated file will be permanently removed from the data room. Statistics for the file will also be lost.


Related links

Did this answer your question?