If you're a data room owner, you can invite new guests to your data room while assigning them the "No Access" permission as the default permission. By doing this, the guest will be invited to your data room, but will not have access any files.

Then, once you've invited them to the data room, go to Granular Permissions to choose which folders and files they can access.

This can be useful if you wish to allow the guest to access only specific files or folders within your data room.

Here are two ways to invite new guests with the "No Access" default guest permission.

Learn more about Default Guest Permission

Option 1: Set Default Guest Permission > No Access

Choose this option if you want all of your future data room guests to have the "No Access" permission by default. If you want to set "No Access" as the default permission on a case-by-case basis only, see Option 2 here.

Please note that changes to Default Guest Permission will only apply to future new guests. If you already have guests in your data room, any changes to the Default Guest Permission will not apply to them.

Step 1: Enter the data room. Click on Settings in the top-right corner.

Step 2: You'll be directed to the Data Room Settings page. Under Default Guest Permission, select No Access.

Step 3: Scroll down to the bottom of the page and click on the Save button.

Step 4: Now, you may invite new guests to the data room. These guests will have the updated default guest permission of "No Access".

Learn how to invite guests to a data room

Option 2: Set Permission > No Access when adding guests

Choose this option if you want to set "No Access" as the default permission for some guests, on a case-by-case basis.

Step 1: Enter the data room. Click on Guests in the top-right corner.

Step 2: You'll be directed to the Guests page. Click on the Add guest button.

Step 3: Under Invitation, enter the email addresses of the guests you want to invite.

Then, under Permission, select No Access.

Continue selecting your desired settings for these guests.

Step 4: Once done, click on either the Add & send notification or Add & skip notification button. These guests will have the default permission of "No Access".


Related links

Did this answer your question?