If you're a data room owner, you can add new folders or files to your data room discreetly, without allowing certain existing guests or groups to have automatic access to them.

This can be useful if you have large and complex data rooms or a large number of guests with various permissions. Here's how to do this.

Step 1: Enter the data room. Click on GUESTS in the top-right corner.

Step 2: In the left sidebar, click on Overview to open Granular Permissions.

Step 3: You should see the Granular Permissions page. In the left sidebar, select the group or guest for whom you want to deny automatic access to the new folder or file you're going to add to the data room.

Then, select the checkbox that corresponds with your data room name and the No Access permission. This is the first checkbox in the first row and first column.

Step 4: A pop-up will appear, asking you if you want to set all permissions to No Access, or to keep different permissions. Click on the Keep different permissions button.

Step 5: Once done, click on the Save button.

Step 6: Now, click on the Close button then FILES in the top-right corner. You should be back in the Files section of your data room.

Click on the New Folder button or the Upload button to add your new folder or file.

Once created or uploaded, this new folder or file will automatically inherit the "No Access" permission of the data room for the guest named Charmaine.

The guest named Charmaine will not be able to see the new folder (i.e. Folder D) when she accesses the data room.

The data room owner and other guests will see the new folder (i.e. Folder D) when they access the data room.


Related links:

Did this answer your question?