Data room permissions are usage-based permissions that only owners and co-owners of a data room can assign to their guests.

💡 Pro Tip: You can categorize your guests in groups and assign data room permissions to these groups instead of changing the permissions one guest at a time. Learn how

List of contents


What are the various data room permissions?

  • Owner: This is the user who created the data room. They can manage and delete the data room. There can only be one owner for each data room. 

  • Co-owners*: This allows users to manage the data room, including view statistics and invite guests. The user who's being assigned this role must be a member of the same plan as the Owner. Co-owners cannot delete data rooms.

  • Contributors*: This allows users to add, view, print and download files or sub-folders within accessible folders. They will also be able to rename, replace, delete, reorder, move and copy files or sub-folders, as well as restore file versions.

  • Download (Original): This allows users to view, print and download files within the accessible folders in the files' original format. No watermarks will appear in the downloaded files even if Dynamic Watermark is enabled.

  • Download (PDF): This allows users to view, print and download files within the accessible folders in PDF formats. Watermarks will appear in the downloaded files if Dynamic Watermark is enabled.

  • Print: This allows users to view and print, but not to download the files within the accessible folders. Watermarks will appear in the printed files and in file viewer if Dynamic Watermark is enabled.

  • View: This allows users to view, but not to print or download the files within the accessible folders. Watermarks will appear in the file viewer if Dynamic Watermark is enabled.

  • No Access: Guests will not be able to access files or folders where they have these permissions. They won't see the list of such files or folders in the data room either.


For data rooms created before August 20, 2018: The data room permissions will still follow the previous co-owner, contributor and viewer options; and the print and download permissions can be managed by under the Change Data Room Settings.

*Classic Pro Plan: Pro Plans that were activated before June 12, 2019 will not have access to data room permissions such as co-owners and contributors.


How to assign permissions while inviting data room guests

Step 1: Enter the data room. Click on GUESTS in the top-right corner.

Step 2: Click on the Add Guest button.

Step 3: Under Invitation, enter the email address of the person you want to invite, then click on Add Email. If you have many people to invite, click on Bulk Invitation to copy and paste the list of all the guests' email addresses.

Step 4: Under Permission, select the permission that will apply to this batch of guests who are being invited. Make sure to batch them according to the role that you want to assign.

Step 5: Under Access Expiry, you may set a date and time for their data room access to expire, so that these guests can only access your data room for a limited time. The date and time are based on your browser’s timezone.

Step 6: Under Message, you may include an optional message that will be included in the email notification to your invited guests.

Once done, click Add & Send Notification. Otherwise, click Add & Skip Notification.


How to change permissions of an existing data room guest

Step 1: Enter the data room. Click on GUESTS in the top-right corner.

Step 2: Click on the three dots (...) for the guest for whom you want to change permissions. In the dropdown menu that appears, select Edit Guest.

Alternatively, you may right-click on the guest and click on Edit Guest.

Step 3: You'll be directed to Edit Guest page. Under Permission, choose the permission you want to apply to this guest.

Step 4: Once done, click on the Save button.


Related links

Did this answer your question?