❗ Note: This article is about transferring ownership of a member's files and data rooms when removing them from a team.

Currently, we do not support the ability to transfer ownership of individual sent files, or to transfer ownership of a member's sent files without removing them from the team. However, data room owners can transfer ownership of a data room at anytime.

If you're an admin, you can transfer ownership of a member's files and data rooms to another member in your team. This can only be done when removing the member from the team.

For security reasons, admins are not allowed to transfer ownership of a member's files and data rooms to a user who's on a different Digify plan. If you need help, please reach out to us at support@digify.com.

List of contents


How to transfer a member's ownership to another member

Only an admin can transfer ownership of a member's files and data rooms to themselves or another member. However, admins cannot transfer their own files and data rooms to another member (refer to this section).

If you're an admin, please follow these steps.

Step 1: From your dashboard, click on your name and avatar in the top-right corner. In the dropdown, select Admin Settings.

Step 2: You'll be directed to the Admin Settings page. Click on MEMBER.

Step 3: Scroll down until you see the MEMBERS section. Click on the three dots (...) for the member account you want to transfer file and data room ownership from.

Then, select Remove Member.

Step 4: A pop-up will appear.

If the member owns files and/or data rooms, you'll see the question: Transfer this member's files and data rooms? Select Transfer to another member.

Then, select a member to transfer ownership to.

Step 5: Choose whether to delete the member account.

If you select Don't delete, the member will be removed from your team immediately. Their Digify account will be converted to a Free plan account. Please select this option if you are removing a member to join another team on Digify.

If you select Delete, the member will be removed from your team and their account will be scheduled for deletion in 30 days. The member will receive an email informing them of the scheduled deletion. They will no longer have an account with Digify once their account is deleted on the scheduled date. This is permanent and irreversible.

Step 6: Please check the form to ensure that your selections are as intended. Once done, click on red button to confirm.


I'm the only admin on my team. How can I transfer ownership of my files & data rooms to another user?

If you're currently the only admin on your team, please assign admin rights to another member of your team first.

Once done, please contact the other admin to remove you from the team, and in the process, transfer ownership of your files and data rooms to another user on the team or to themselves.

While removing you from the team, the admin can choose to delete your member account if needed. Learn more about deleting your Digify account


Related links:

Did this answer your question?