Note: The Q&A feature is currently a beta feature. It is only available on Team plans and above. View plans

When using Q&A, please be aware of these file size and character limits.

  • Maximum file size for uploaded attachments is 5GB.

  • Maximum character count for the subject is 250 characters. The message cannot be longer than 20,000 characters.

List of contents


How to enable Q&A for a data room

When creating a data room, the Q&A feature is enabled by default. You can find it under PREFERENCES > Question & Answer. To learn more about the various Q&A settings, go to Step 3 below.

If you'd like to enable Q&A for an existing data room, follow these steps.

Step 1: Enter the data room. Click on SETTINGS in the top-right corner.

Step 2: Scroll down until you see the PREFERENCES section. Look for Question & Answer, then click on the toggle to enable the feature for the data room.

Step 3: Select your desired Q&A setting. You can choose to allow your guests to send messages to:

  • Owner & co-owners only. Other guests won't be able to see these messages. While composing a message, a guest can only address the message to you (the data room owner) and your co-owners. This allows them to see your name and the names of your co-owners.

  • Owner, co-owners & people in the same group. Only guests in the same guest groups will be able to see the messages from their fellow group members. While composing a message, a guest's message will be automatically addressed to the data room owner and co-owners. In addition, the guest can also choose to address the message to other guests in their group. This allows them to see your name, the names of your co-owners, and the names of all other guests who are in the same guest group as them. How to set up groups

  • Everyone. All guests will be able to see all messages. While composing a message, a guest's message will be automatically addressed to the data room owner and co-owners. In addition, the guest can also choose to address the message to any other guests in the data room. This allows them to see your name, the names of your co-owners, and the names of all other guests in the data room.

Note: Your selected Q&A setting may be in conflict with your data room's Guest List settings. Learn more

Step 4: Once done, scroll down and click on the Save button.


How to disable Q&A for a data room

Q&A is enabled by default when creating a new data room. If you wish to disable it, please follow these steps.

Note: You must be the data room owner or co-owner to complete these steps.

Step 1: Enter the data room. Click on SETTINGS in the top-right corner.

Step 2: Scroll down until you see the PREFERENCES section. Look for Question & Answer, then click on the toggle to disable the feature for the data room.

Step 3: Once done, scroll down and click on the Save button.


Related links

Did this answer your question?