If you're the data room owner or co-owner, you can change your data room's settings at any time.
List of contents
How to change your data room settings
Step 1: Go to the specific data room. Click on Settings in the top-right corner.
Step 2: You'll be directed to the Data Room Settings page. Here, you can change the settings of the data room.
Step 3: Once done, click on the Save button to save your new settings.
What are the various data room settings?
Defines the type of guests that can be added to your data room:
Only people I specify
Only people from domains I specify
Anyone with the link (email verification)
Default Guest Permission*
Defines the default permission for guests without assigned permissions. When a new guest is added to a data room, this will be their default permission.
Terms of Access
If enabled, your guests must accept your legal terms before they can access your data room and view files in your data room.
You can set this to require guests to accept the organization's terms, or custom terms for the data room.
Data Room Expiry
Turn this on if you want to set an expiry date and time for your data room.
After the expiry date and time, you guests will no longer be able to access the data room. The owner and co-owners will still be able to access the data room and view files in the data room.
Turn this on if you want to discourage guests from unauthorized sharing of your files, or to emphasize the confidentiality of your files.
With Dynamic Watermark, you can decide:
What to display: Your customized text, email address of viewer, IP address of viewer, and/or the date and time viewed
The watermark position: Tile, center, top left, top right, bottom left or bottom right
Color of the watermark: Gray, blue or red
Discourage screenshots by reducing the viewable screen area with a watermarked filter. When enabled, recipients need a lot more effort to capture and stitch together the information into a document, as they can only see a portion of the document at a time.
Note that with additional security comes increased inconvenience. The recipient’s viewing experience will need more effort to view your document. As such, we recommend using this feature only for highly confidential documents.
Turn on File Index to automatically assign an index number to each of your files and folders in the data room. File Index is turned on by default.
To find this feature, enter your data room > Settings > Preferences > Advanced Settings - Use defaults (click on toggle to turn off) > File Index
When enabled, you can export the File Index as an Excel file to have a complete list of all the files and folders in your data room.
You can choose to make your data room guest list visible or invisible to your guests, with the following options:
Hide: The guest list will not be visible to anyone.
Show owners, and people in the same group: The guest list will be visible to owners and co-owners. Guests in the same group will also be able to see each other on the guest list.
Show everyone: The guest list will be visible to everyone in the data room.
Guest List is set to Hide by default.
New File Notification
You can choose from the following options:
Ask me every time: Whenever new files are added to the data room, a pop-up will always ask the uploader if they want to notify guests via email.
Always send: Whenever new files are added to the data room, all guests will be notified via email, if the guest has allowed notifications.
Don't send: Whenever new files are added to the data room, no pop-up appear and no email notifications will be sent.
Note: A data room guest can choose to not to receive any email notifications for new files, even if New File Notification is enabled.
*Only available for data rooms created after August 20, 2018